PFA Award Recipients
Share |

Seymour Lefton Award

Seymour Lefton was not only one of the founders of PFA, but was also a driving force in the early development of the pedorthic profession, and remained so for over 30 years. Seymour passed awayin 2001,but his memory is kept alive bythe Pedorthic Footwear Associationand the profession that he devoted his life to with the profession's most prestigious award – the Seymour Lefton Award - which recognizes outstanding service to the pedorthic profession by an individual.The Seymour Lefton Awardisnot an annual award -PFA hasawarded it to only 19 people in its 24 year history.

Seymour Lefton Award Recipients
Seymour Lefton (honored in 1980)
John McMahan, C. Ped. (1981)
Dean Morgan, C. Ped. (1982)
Abe Plotkin, C. Ped. (1983)
Herb Steb, C. Ped. (1984)
Clyde Edwards, C. Ped., CO (1985)
Fred Toenges, C. Ped. (1986)
Sidney Pols (1987)
Robert Schwartz, C. Ped. (1988)
Carl Riecken, C. Ped. (1989)
Bill Boettge (1990)
Dennis Janisse, C. Ped. (1991)
Barry Ullman, C. Ped. (1994)
Bill Rossi, DPM (1995)
Matthew Mirones, C. Ped., CPO (1998)
Roger Marzano, C. Ped., CPO (2001)
Harriet Dart, C. Ped. (2002)
Ted Colaizzi, C. Ped. (2003)
Alan Darby, C. Ped. (2005)
Shane Hayes, C. Ped. (2007)
Mike Forgrave, C. Ped., C. Ped. (C) (2010)
Casper Ozinga, C. Ped., CPed (au) (2011)
Dane LaFontsee, C. Ped. (2012)


To recognize the importance that the medical community has played within pedorthics, some years ago PFA established its Physician of the Year Award.Not presented every year, it has been given out only fifteen times in is 30+ year history.

Physician of the Year Award Recipients

Nicholas J. Giannestras, M.D.
Hiram Kite, M.D.
Rex L. Diveley, M.D.
C. Leslie Mitchell, M.D.
S. Pearson Auerbach, M.D.
Nathanial Gould, M.D.
Charles Leroy Lowman, M.D.
John McDermott, M.D. (1988)
Thomas Green, M.D. (1989)
Ian Alexander, M.D. (1991)
Marvin Levin, M.D. (1993)
Jeff Johnson, M.D. (1994)
Robert Anderson, M.D. (1996)
Melanie Sanders, M.D. (1998)
David Levine, DPM (2007)


Recognizing the critical role that the Vendor/Manufacturer members play within PFA, the Board decided a number of years ago to present a Vendor of the Year Award to a PFA member company exhibiting exemplary service and product selection to meet the patient needs of pedorthists, and for supporting PFA and the pedorthic profession.Like the Seymor Lefton Award, the Vendor of the Year Award is not presented on a regular basis but as determined by the Board.

Vendor of the Year Award Recipients

Apex Health Industries (now Aetrex Worldwide) (2004)
Acor (2005)
Esko Orthopedic Specialties (2006)
p.w. minor (2007)
Drew Shoes (2008)
Verne Bintz Company (2010)
Pedors Shoes (2011)
SAS Shoes (2012)
Hapad Foot Products (2013)


Recognizing the critical role that Corporate Sponsors play throughout the year with PFA, the Board decided in 2012 to present a Sponsor of the Year Award to a company  providing superlative support to PFA throughout the year not only as a Corporate Sponsor (which is a key element of this award's criteria), but also as a Symposium & Exhibition exhibitor, Current Pedorthics advertiser, etc.  Like the Seymor Lefton Award, the Sponsor of the Year Award will not be presented on a regular basis but as determined by the Board.

Sponsor of the Year Award Recipient

Dr. Comfort (inaugural awardee in 2012)
New Step Orthotic Lab, Inc. (2013)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal